Library 2.0 Innovation Extravaganza

Today I participated in the Alliance Online Innovation Institute Library 2.0 Extravaganza. The speaker was Michael Stephens, well known blogger, writer, trainer, and soon to be professor. His blog, Tame the Web, has been one of my must-reads since I discovered blogs. Michael presented four, one hour sessions on these topics:

  • Weblogs & Libraries
  • Instant Messaging: Do You IM?
  • Social software: A Survey of Web 2.0
  • Creating Staff Buy In for New Technologies

I will write a blog on each topic as soon as I review and assimilate what I learned.

I haven't participated in an online presentation before (I don't count vendor webinars) and was pleased with how well it worked. In addition to slides and two-way audio we used chat for comments and questions. This way audio flow was not interrupted.

The presentation was sponsored by the Alliance Library System. Alliance is also the sponsor of Second Life Library 2.0 which is located in the 3-D virtual reality world of Second Life. I plan to blog on it later but if you are curious and can't wait here is the Second Life Library 2.0 blog. The Extravaganza was held in  the  OPAL (Online Programming for All Libraries) online auditorium.  Take a look at the OPAL archives. They do interesting stuff.

Explore posts in the same categories: Library 2.0, web 2.0

